On July 18th, 1931, a meeting was held in the library of the then Gordon Institute of Technology in Fenwick Street, Geelong, to form the Geelong Philatelic Society. The first President duly elected was Mr. Frank Shrimpton, and he gave his name to an award which has been given by the Society since 1935. The Shrimpton Cup is awarded annually to the member deemed to have made the most valuable contribution to the Society in that year.

There were 34 original members, including 5 women; and we have always been fortunate to maintain a strong membership. Traditionally we met on Saturday evenings twice each month, but recently we have opted for a Monday afternoon meeting in lieu of the second Saturday evening, which is proving to be very popular.